As part of an ongoing effort to enlist the Daemen community to share the university’s story, here is another batch of talking points for our alums and friends.

Board Chair Yurtchuk Named a 2022 C-Level Executives Award Winner

John Yurtchuk, the chairman of Daemen’s Board of Trustees, was honored by Buffalo Business First as a 2022 C-Level Executives award winner. The annual honor recognizes business leaders’ professional achievements and innovations; their ability to serve as role models, setting standards within their industry; and their leadership within the Western New York community.

ABA Clinic Receives $100K from Tower Foundation

The Tower Foundation has awarded $100,000 over the next two years to support Daemen’s Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) Clinic. Led by director Dr. Nicole DeRosa, the clinic will help children and caregivers in WNY gain access to critically needed behavioral services, as well as an opportunity for teaching and training students in the ABA and Behavioral Science programs.

Miguel Rodriguez bein recognized by Buffalo's mayor Byron Brown during Hispanic Heritage Month.

Rodriguez’s Contributions to Hispanic Community Recognized by Mayor

Daemen’s Director of Community Standards and Student Advocacy Miguel Rodriguez was cited by City of Buffalo Mayor Byron Brown for his promotion of Hispanic and Latino culture around the region. Rodriguez arranged Daemen’s participation in the annual Puerto Rican & Hispanic Day parade, marking the first time a local institution of higher education was involved in the event.

reveal and unvailing of Girard House (39 Getzville) at Daemen University.

‘Girard House’ Dedicated to the Living Legacy of Longtime Employees

A ceremony was held in October to officially name the building at 39 Getzville Road “Girard House” in honor of Jay and Sue ’04 Girard, who have dedicated much of their lives to Daemen. The couple first met on campus when Jay started working at the university in 1985.

Student-Animated Films by Five Daemen Alumi Win National Telly Awards

Students from the Daemen Class of 2021 won three silver awards (Kelsey Mahoney, Jessica Ochs, and Kyle Payne) and two bronze awards (Jarred Lee and Katherine Leising) at the 43rd Telly Awards, for short films they created while seniors studying animation at the university.

Parshall Appointed to Editorship with Federal History Journal

Daemen political science professor Lisa Parshall was chosen to serve as an editor for the Society for History in the Federal Government’s Federal History Journal, which serves an important role in the public’s interest in civic engagement and public trust of the U.S. government.